Thursday, March 19, 2009

Eastern Conference FInalists

NO doubt you've seen these already but there they are again.

Goaltender: Braden Holtby, Saskatoon Blades (unanimous)
Defenceman: Paul Postma, Calgary Hitmen (unanimous)
Defenceman: Keith Aulie, Brandon Wheat Kings
Forward: Brett Sonne, Calgary Hitmen (unanimous)
Forward: Brandon Kozun, Calgary Hitmen
Forward: Tyler Ennis, Medicine Hat Tigers

Goaltender: Martin Jones, Calgary Hitmen
Defenceman: Michael Stone, Calgary Hitmen
Defenceman: John Negrin, Swift Current Broncos
Forward: Joel Broda, Calgary Hitmen
Forward: Justin Bernhardt, Prince Albert Raiders
Forward: Brayden Schenn, Brandon Wheat Kings
Eastern Conference award finalists:
WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy: Jordan Weal, Regina Pats
WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy: Braden Holtby, Saskatoon Blades
WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy: Paul Postma, Calgary Hitmen
WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy: Tyler Ennis, Medicine Hat Tigers
WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Trophy: Stefan Elliott, Saskatoon Blades
WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy: Lorne Molleken, Saskatoon Blades
WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy: Kelly Kisio, Calgary Hitmen

There was some discussion on the white board about Tyler Ennis' most sportsmanlike player nomination. Some fans are arguing that a player who throws his stick, and at times doesn't show a sportsmanlike temperament, shouldn't get a finalist mention.

I partially agree and partially disagree. Ennis has been nabbed a few times taking a jab at someone behind the play. That stick throwing incident with lethbridge doesn't look to good on his sportsmanlike resume and their are times when he embellishes a trip or hook.

However being a star player who is constantly dipping in and out of traffic he takes quite a lot of crap from opponents as well. If they base the award on the ratio of non sportsmanlike crap received to dealt, then he absolutely deserves the nomination.

No comments: